Winter Tales

Disclaimer: It will be a good lot more winter pictures than tales. I’ve been back in Oslo for a week now, and it’s a little strange – feels a lot more proactive even though I know I haven’t really been doing that much. Or maybe I have and it just seems little  because I used to do just the absolute basics.

My long, long holidays were immensely enjoyable, and I got to find some new safer ground to stand on, which is incredibly helpful. I say that now – I have also been ill for about half the time I’ve been here, and my brain too clotted with that to allow any overthinking/vicious circles/other depressive thoughts. It’s always easier to forgive yourself not being up and energetic when you’re physically ill, rather than if something mental holds you back.

But this isn’t a post about thinking (I’ve done plenty of that for myself and I’m sure it’ll come up another time), this is more eye candy.

From the last days of cold Oslo to Bavaria, where there were still flowers and blooms, and an impressive collection of Christmas markets – counting all of the ones I visited in Landshut, Regensburg and Munich as well as Oslo I get up to 8 different ones this year, and that’s with only two of the 15-ish in Munich.

And then more Munich happened, a quiet New Years, masses of snow, a beautiful Voralpen-trip and very quickly the next round of travel.

Edinburgh for a single weekend was beautiful and snowy and less painful than last time – really I just wanted to hug every lamp post and familiar wall. Looks like that settles the question of where my home is. And then followed a week in Leeds, which I always thought was industrial and grey but turns out to have some lovely architecture.

I do have much time to think about things, so I’m sure there will be more of that in the future – though also my new lens has to be played with a little more, so there will surely be more photography.

Until then, I hope the New Year brings you all good things!

Leave a comment